Ohio is for writing.

In 2013, I randomly decided to move to Cleveland OH. It was the first of many reckless decisions and honestly my best one. I spent about 7 months living a carefree life. It was stressful; being broke and a homebody, reading beatnik poetry and sleeping till 2 pm. Through all that, I spent that time really coming into my own as an artist. Until the move, I was working constantly but had no clear vision as to who I was as an artist. It was like a poor man’s summer art workshop.

I painted and drew all the time. I also found a new medium; writing. I was reading a lot of Ginsberg and Kerouac at the time (I’m a beatnik head) and felt really inspired from the melancholy of my life. When I moved back to Buffalo, I stopped writing. It took me a few years to reread all that mess. So last year while living in FL, I felt that same melancholy I  felt in Ohio and started writing again. After a few months,  I dug up those Ohio poems and stories and edited them the best way I could and decided to make a book.

I may still go through with the book. I’m still working things out at my own pace. One day I’ll make up my mind. But for now here are some pages from my first draft.

-M

At one point

5am

3dayslater

Leave a Reply

