lifehood. by mariah alicia

Processed with MOLDIV

In Februay 2016, I moved to Florida because I was getting kicked out my house and was doing a lot of wild shit. I moved to have a fresh start, really make something of my life. I was really just running. I had so much time to really think about my life, my dreams, my craft, my family. It created more problems then actually solving them. In march 2017, I moved back to Buffalo NY. I, again, was running from my problems and fears. In the late summer, everything started to fall apart. The men I chose to talk to, the job I was working, my past coming back to haunt me. In January of this year, I broke. I spent 2 months in my house, trying to start over, for real. 

Through out all that mess, one thing I’ve managed to do was create photo collages. I would spent the day and home and take photos, mostly around my apartment, and create. I knew in FL that I would somehow make it to this point with this project. Making these collages help me get through that particular day. I can tell you how I was feeling the day each of these were made. The last 2 years have been a huge learning experience, as a person and as an artist. I managed to work though my depression with the help of my family, close friends and art. 

IMG_1652
Processed with MOLDIV
Processed with MOLDIV
IMG_1824
Processed with MOLDIV

-M

Leave a comment